

RESERVE BANK OF INDIA

www.rbi.org.in

RBI/2010-11/428

UBD.BPD. (PCB). Cir.No. 39 /09.73.000/2010-11

March 15, 2011

The Chief Executive Officers, All Primary (Urban) Co-operative Banks.

Madam / Dear Sir,

Coins of 25 Paise and Below - Withdrawal from Circulation

Please refer to the Govt. of India Gazette Notification S.O 2978(E) dated December 20, 2010 and the Reserve Bank Press Release dated February 1, 2011 on the above

subject (copies enclosed).

2. The Government of India has decided to withdraw coins of denomination of 25

paise and below from circulation with effect from June 30, 2011. The Reserve Bank

of India has instructed the banks maintaining small coin depots to arrange for

exchange of coins of denomination of 25 paise and below for their face value at their

branches. The coins will be exchanged at the branches of these banks as also the

offices of the Reserve Bank till the close of business on June 30, 2011. Coins of

denomination of 25 paise and below will not be accepted for exchange at the bank

branches from July 1, 2011 onwards. The UCBs may take note of the above

instructions.

3. Please acknowledge receipt to the Regional Office concerned.

Yours faithfully

(Uma Shankar)

Chief General Manager

Encls: 3

शहरी बैंक विभाग, केन्द्रीय कार्यालय, गारमेंट हाउस, पहली मंजिल, वरली, मुंबई - 400 018 फोन: 022 - 2493 9930 - 49, फैक्स: 022 - 2497 4030 / 2492 0231, ई मेल: rbiubdco@rbi.org.in

Urban Banks Department, Central Office, 1 Floor, Garment House, Worli, Mumbai - 400 018 Phone: 022 - 2493 9930 - 49, Fax: 022 - 2497 4030 / 2492 0231, Email: rbiubdco@rbi.org.in

HRA Entre VIIIII The Gazette of India

CAMERO A CAMBRIAN A A

EXTRAORDINARY

भाग् II—खण्ड 3—उप-खण्ड (ii) PART II—Section 3—Sub-section (ii)

प्राधिकार से प्रकाशित PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

सं. 25291

नई दिल्ली, सोमवार, दिसम्बर 20, 2010/अग्रहायण 29, 1932

No. 2529]

NEW DELHI, MONDAY, DECEMBER 20, 2010/AGRAHAYANA 29, 1932

वित्त मंत्रालय

(आर्थिक कार्य विभाग)

अधिसूचना

नई दिल्ली, 20 दिसम्बर, 2010

का.आ. 2978(अ).—केन्द्रीय सरकार, सिक्का निर्माण अधिनियम, 1906 (1906 का 3) की धारा 15क द्वारा प्रदत्त शिक्तयों का प्रयोग करते हुए, तारीख 30 जून, 2011 को, समय-समय पर जारी 25 पैसे और उससे कम मूल्य के सिक्कों को परिचालन से वापस लेने हेतु अवधारित करती है और इस तारीख से ये सिक्के लेखा के साथ-साथ संदाय के लिए विधिक मुद्रा नहीं रहेंगे। वापस लेने की प्रक्रिया भारतीय रिजर्व बैंक द्वारा पृथक रूप से अधिसूचित की जाएगी।

[फा. सं. 11/19/2009-सिक्का]

अरुण सोबती, अवर सचिव (करेंसी और सिक्का निर्माण)

MINISTRY OF FINANCE

(Department of Economic Affairs)

NOTIFICATION

New Delhi, the 20th December, 2010

S.O. 2978(E).—In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section 15A of the Coinage Act, 1906 (3 of 1906), the Central Government hereby determines to call in from circulation the coins of the denomination of 25 paise and below, issued from time to time, with effect from June 30, 2011, and from this date, these coins shall cease to be a legal tender for payment as well as on account. The procedure for call in shall be notified separately by the Reserve Bank of India.

[F. No. 11/19/2009-Coin]

ARUN SOBTI, Under Secy. (Currency & Coinage)



भारतीय रिज़र्व बैंक

RESERVE BANK OF INDIA

वेबसाइट : www.rbi.org.in/hindi Website : www.rbi.org.in इ-मेल email: helpdoc@rbi.org.in

February 1, 2011

संचार विभाग, केंद्रीय कार्यालय, एस.बी.एस.मार्ग, मुंबई-400001

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION, Central Office, S.B.S.Marg, Mumbai-400001 फोन/Phone: 91 22 2266 0502 फैक्स/Fax: 91 22 2266 0358

RBI instructs Banks to exchange Coins of 25 paise and Below for Facevalue

The Reserve Bank of India has instructed the banks maintaining small coin depots (<u>list annexed</u>) to arrange for exchange of coins of denomination of 25 paise and below for their face value at their branches. Members of public can exchange small denomination coins at any branch of these banks. Exchange facility will also be available at all Issue Offices of the Reserve Bank. The coins will be exchanged at the branches of these banks/offices of the Reserve Bank till the close of business on June 30, 2011.

Coins of denomination of 25 paise and below will not be accepted for exchange at the bank branches from July 1, 2011 onwards.

It may be recalled that in exercise of powers conferred by Section15A of the Coinage Act, 1906(3of 1906), the Government of India has decided to withdraw the coins of denomination of 25 paise and below from circulation with effect from June 30, 2011. From this date, these coins shall cease to be legal tender for payment as well as on account.

J.D. Desai Assistant Manager

Press Release: 2010-2011/1095

Annex

Allahabad Bank	State Bank of Patiala
Andhra Bank	State Bank of Travancore
Bank of Baroda	IDBI Bank Ltd.
Bank of India	ICICI Bank Ltd.
Bank of Maharashtra	Tamilnad Merchantile Bank Ltd.
Canara Bank	The Dhanalakshmi Bank Ltd.
Central bank of India	The Federal Bank Ltd.
Corporation Bank	The Catholic Siriyan bank Ltd.
Dena Bank	The HDFC Bank Ltd
Indian Overseas Bank	The Jammu and Kashmir Bank Ltd.
Indian Bank	The Karur Vysya Bank Ltd.
Oriental Bank of Commerce	The Laxmi Vilas Bank Ltd.
Punjab and Sind Bank	The South Indian Bank Ltd.
Punjab National Bank	ING Vysya Bank Ltd. Bank
State bank of India	Standard Chartered Bank
Syndicate Bank	Prathama Bank Ltd.
UCO Bank	City Union Bank
Union Bank of India	AXIS Bank Ltd.
United Bank of India	Karnataka bank Ltd.
Vijaya Bank	Tripura Gramin Bank
State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur	The Nainital Bank Ltd.
State Bank of Hyderabad	The Rajasthan State Cooperative Bank Ltd.
State Bank of Mysore	